Priests and Ministers of Prestonkirk

The Middle AgesFrom the Reformation
to the Disruption
From the Disruption
to the Present
c.1127Blahan1560-1583George Hepburn1843-1876James Porteous
c.1188William1586-1596Robert Hepburn1876-1918Thomas Marjoribanks
c.1296Richard1597-1618Edward Hepburn1918-1955Richard Clayton Corrie
c.1324Thomas de Gordon1619-1669John Dalzell1957-1960Robert Maule Brown
c.1424Alexander de Cairns1670-1671John Darngavel1961-1974John Grant Levack
c.1463Patrick Hepburn1671-1679George Shiels1974-1986Kenneth Hughes
c.1492Gavin Douglas1679-1680Gilbert Rule1986- 1998James B. Lawson
   1493-?John Irland1680-1689George Shiels  
c.1543Nicol Crichton1689-1691John Harvie  
   1548-1560George Hepburn1692-1702John Forrest  
  1702-1732Thomas Findlay  
  1734-1768Matthew Reid  
  1768-1808Daniel MacQueen  
  1809-1841James Thomson  
  1841-1843John Thomson  

Ministers in the Other Churches in the Parish

United Presbyterian ChurchSt. Andrews Free ChurchUnited Free Church
1795-1827Hugh Jamieson1843-1889John Thomson1910-1920Duncan Blair
1827-1863George Paterson1876-1884Thomas Adamson1920-1946John Henderson Edgar
1863-1890John Park Alexander1884-1910Robert George Rodger1946-1959Robert Riddock Fisher
1890-1910Alexander Watt    

Follow the links below for more information about Prestonkirk


Back to introduction

Text © Chris Tabraham, formerly Principal Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Historic Scotland

Page last updated 28th May, 2012
Please contact us if you have any comments about this page or if you have any problems with it.