Before East Linton became a Police Burgh in 1863, the town was ruled by a Bailie of Barony, nominated by the Laird of Phantassie. For many years, Robert Ballantyne, who had a baker's business in the shop and bakehouse at Bridgend, was the "Bailie" and was held in high esteem by all sections of the community. A story is told of him that in the great flood of September 1846, when the newly constructed railway bridge was completely washed away, the Bailie was standing on the old stone bridge when someone called to him to leave the bridge at once for it would soon fall. The Bailie stood his ground and boldly replied, "Linton Brig fa' down, ye idiot? Linton Brig will stand for ever." A proud boast indeed, and one which, like the Old Bridge itself, has stood the test of time!
Back to index of names
Back to Prestonkirk Burial Ground Survey